Reviews

killer venue! "*****

Jay Sturm.Oct 27, 2016

What a killer venue! And if the barn, with amazing foliage as a backdrop weren't enough, there's a house on the property that the bridal party can stay at! But wait... there's more! Ron, the proprietor of the venue, is one of the nicest guys you could ever come across. He legitimately just wants to make your day as special as it can possibly be and goes above and beyond. Dealing with Ron is such a pleasant and easy experience that it almost makes up for some of the other vendors you'll inevitably deal with. Gratitude & Grace is a gorgeous venue that overlooks an equally gorgeous vista - seriously, it's breathtaking. There's even a separate water/power hookup for restroom trailers. Can't recommend this place enough!

"Forever a Special Place For Us!"*****

Lauren McDonald.Oct 19, 2016

We got married at G&G in September 2016. We knew that we wanted to have a laid back and beautiful wedding where we could enjoy celebrating with friends and family and we certainly found that at Gratitude and Grace. The 1870’s barn and landscape are breathtaking. We received so many compliments from our guests about how beautiful it was. Having the house and barn all weekend was one of the best parts- we had a blast and got to enjoy it for more than just a few hours! Ron made everything so easy. He was accessible and helpful but laid back and non-intrusive. The whole process was smooth. Don’t get me wrong though, it took a ton of work to plan and set up. If you don’t mind DIY and are a self-motivated planner, it is worth the extra effort. We could not have asked for a more perfect setting and day and we are extremely grateful that we chose Gratitude and Grace. It is forever a special place for us.

"Thank you for everything! "*****

Christine Dinan.Oct 16, 2016

We celebrated our wedding at Gratitude & Grace in September 2016, and we couldn’t be happier with our decision! Our friends and family keep telling us how much they enjoyed the gorgeous barn and grounds, and we couldn’t agree more. We really loved all of the nooks and crannies on the property - there were plenty of tucked-away spots to sit and chat, play lawn games, and admire the views - and the fact that we had the place for the whole weekend, so we weren’t rushed with set up and break down. Be warned that this venue definitely requires extra effort - you need to arrange to have everything brought in, including tables, chairs, and bathrooms! - but it’s a beautiful blank canvas to create a wedding that is uniquely yours. And Ron was wonderful during the entire weekend, allowing us to check in earlier to accommodate our plans and helping to troubleshoot issues that came up, while otherwise staying out of our way. Thank you for everything!

"Spectacular! "*****

Mark Pinclotti April 3, 2016

We got married at Gratitude & Grace in June 2014. Someone once told us that a wedding day is like your own little world that you create for one day. Set the scene, create the memories, let the love pour over you from family and friends. It was truly an amazing experience, one I couldn't fully grasp until the actual day. In large part, the wedding was so spectacular because of Gratitude & Grace. We wanted to get married in Ithaca because we met at IC and it was always our special bubble, a beautiful town with such gorges, natural surroundings. Hoping for a rustic, Ithaca vibe that was private, yet open, had the accommodations for guests, catering, dining, while still accentuating the breathtaking outdoors, we came across G&G. Ron was extremely helpful and passionate from the start. This was a new venture for him back then. We'd get updates on how the barn was coming along, surprise texts like images of the exquisite chandelier. Talk about pride of ownership. He was extremely accommodating in terms of letting us have access to the venue with caterers, DJ and other vendors ahead of time to plan the arrangements. The barn has a prep kitchen that was key for our caterers, there's power sources everywhere inside, the 2nd floor double french doors allowed for a spectacular cross breeze that kept the whole place very comfortable at the end of June. Every angle, every nook and cranny of the property has been landscaped and decorated that you can have your choice of where to have the ceremony, photos, cocktail hour etc. We wound up booking the homestead for 2 nights for our bridal party as well. This was so helpful to have a home base, connect with our wedding party and have early access to the barn for prep. We can't say enough wonderful things about G&G and Ron. We should mention, we planned the entire wedding from Los Angeles! Talk about potential nightmares, but Ron was so communicative, we felt very comfortable and had no problems! We constantly think back to our wedding day with much pride and happiness, wishing we could do it again and again.

"The Perfect Wedding!"*****

Cady T.Sep 28, 2015

Gratitude and Grace is the ultimate wedding venue for the couple who wants private wedding with a rustic feel. My husband and I just got married there and it was everything we had hoped it would be. The surrounding grounds are absolutely beautiful for an outdoor ceremony and for people to gather during the reception. There are several awesome "gathering nook" type of places on the grounds and the amazing photo opportunities are endless. The inside of the barn is absolutely beautiful and was perfect for the reception. It comfortably sat our 125 guests. It was really convenient to stay at the house too. Our whole wedding party was able to stay there so we actually got to spend some quality time with them. The bridal suite is beautiful and was an awesome space for the girls to get ready in the day of the wedding. With everything, and everyone, right there on site it really gave the whole weekend a special cozy feel. Ron, the owner, was fantastic to deal with. He is a great, laid back guy and really let us run with our ideas. There was no point during the process that we felt like we were being limited with what we could do and our wedding turned out to be 100% what we wanted it to be. I highly recommend this venue, though I do caution people who may not have a lot of extra hands to help you. You really are just paying for access to the barn so everything must be brought onto the site and set up/broken down yourself. Overall, an amazing experience!

"Incredible Experience!"*****

Katelynn S Nov 18, 2015

Gratitude & Grace met and surpassed every expectation we had for our wedding day. The venue is immaculately maintained and the owner, Ron Riddle, went above and beyond to ensure everyone was well-cared for. Everything, from the rooms to the view to the barn, was exceptionally beautiful and special. We received so many compliments about the venue, ceremony, and overall atmosphere of our wedding – all thanks to Gratitude & Grace! Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers

"Our Wedding Was Perfect!"*****

Danielle B Nov 14, 2015

My husband and I, with all of our closest friends and family spent the weekend at Gratitude and Grace for our wedding weekend. The house was some comfortable and the property so beautiful, it was a great weekend getaway for all who stayed. The barn could not have been more perfect for our dream wedding. Ron was so helpful and accommodating throughout the entire planning process and during the wedding weekend. He is such a fun and accommodating host. The entire experience was absolutely amazing!

"Amazing Venue!"*****

Nadine Trinidad Oct 3, 2015

I had my wedding here a week ago today. I could not have asked for anything more perfect. I was not the type to be planning my wedding since I was a little girl and I didn't have any big ideas for my wedding day. All I knew was that I wanted a beautiful setting for all of my friends and family to have a great time and this was it. I hardly needed to do anything to make this place the perfect spot! and it turned out to be way more beautiful than I could have ever imagined. Ron (the owner) was so wonderful and laid back! I felt like I was staying on my own property. Ron's band played at our reception and it was AMAZING. Everyone from my high school friends, college friends, even my husbands 90 year old grandfather were all out on the floor!! I am so thankful we found this spot and I wish I could relive this past weekend every week! Thank you Ron for this amazing venue, your amazing music skills and for being so generous! You made my wedding so carefree!

"A Hidden Gem! *****"

Jaye Hobart Oct 24, 2015

Gratitude & Grace was unbelievable! Down to every detail it was what I had always pictured for my wedding. I would recommend this hidden gem over and over again.

"Could Not Have Been More Perfect! *****"

Danielle Marie, Nov 14, 2015

My husband and I, with all of our closest friends and family spent the weekend at Gratitude and Grace for our wedding weekend. The house was some comfortable and the property so beautiful, it was a great weekend getaway for all who stayed. The barn could not have been more perfect for our dream wedding. Ron was so helpful and accommodating throughout the entire planning process and during the wedding weekend. He is such a fun and accommodating host. The entire experience was absolutely amazing!

"Simply Breathtaking! *****"

Rachel Oct 30, 2014

Gratitude & Grace met and surpassed every expectation we had for our wedding day. The venue is immaculately maintained and the owner, Ron Riddle, went above and beyond to ensure everyone was well-cared for. Everything, from the rooms to the view to the barn, was exceptionally beautiful and special. We received so many compliments about the venue, ceremony, and overall atmosphere of our wedding – all thanks to Gratitude & Grace! Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers

"WEDDING OF A LIFETIME"*****

Sandy, October 2014

Gratitude and Grace. Those words will always mean something profoundly special to me having just experienced both at the wedding of our daughter on October 25.

It was almost miraculous that there was an available weekend in October for our event on such short notice, so we booked it immediately not having any idea of how one goes about creating a wedding in a barn. We had a very short time to pull everything together, since her engagement was announced mid­July. But with Ron Riddle's help, cooperation and easy ways, the wedding of a lifetime was created in the span of just a few months.

To begin with, the house is amazing, truly amazing ­ beautifully appointed, gracefully and so lovingly decorated, that when our guests entered it was obvious how happy they were to be there instead of a hotel/motel somewhere waiting for the big event. Twelve of our guests stayed at the house with us and everyone just loved it.

The house is a fine example of Victorian architecture that has somehow managed to survive the ravages of time without a bit of deterioration. One can only guess what the Riddles did to refurbish or tweak the place, but they did it beautifully. And she's a grand old lady, that house. . . welcoming, comfortable and simply lovely with a fantastic kitchen- gathering room. We found ourselves spending most of our time in that space where we could look at the barn across the yard and imagine what was to occur. Just standing on the grass between the house and the barn filled me with such peace and joy that at times I was overwhelmed.

The freedom we all had to enjoy the entire complex, although it was too cold to use the inviting swimming pool, immediately provided everyone with a sense of true relaxation. And that last word is hardly ever synonymous with wedding planning, particularly for principles like the bride, groom, and their parents. But, relax we did as we savored the sheer beauty of the surroundings.

We loved, loved, loved the barn. There's a sense of nobility about it that's hard to describe. And the event that took place there, under the archway for the ceremony with the cornfield and beautiful foliage in the background, was a photographer's dream. The photos taken outside are some of the most beautiful I've ever seen. And the reception we held inside was nothing but magical. Our guests were able to relax and enjoy everything about being in a venue that was the antithesis of stuffy or stiff.

So, if you're the kind of person who thinks out of the box, you can see Gratitude and Grace as a blank slate on which you can create the event you want with almost no restrictions.It is with great admiration and appreciation that I applaud what Ron Riddle and his bride Andrea created in this place. My only regret is that both of my children are married now and I can't have another wedding there. Hmmm....maybe a vow renewal though!

With gratitude and respect ­ Thanks for the memories, Ron.

"Gratitude and Grace Made Her Dream a Reality""*****

Jill Sanders-DeMott

My daughter and son-in-law were married at Gratitude & Grace on September 13, 2014. From the first time we visited the venue with about 10 family members in tow, we were impressed not only with the beauty of the barn and surrounding property; the warmth of the beautiful old house; but most wonderfully, the kindness and hospitality of the owner, Ron Riddle. It was decided that this was the place for our family to celebrate the marriage of our children and we were not disappointed. Ron opened his home on more than one occasion before our event to allow us to plan which rooms to use for what, as well as for us to meet with various vendors. Ron took his help to a new level when the band we had engaged for the wedding fell through in late July. It was important for us to have live music at the wedding, and despite our efforts, we were unable to find a band that met our needs. We were not looking for a typical wedding band – we wanted good music, songs that meant something to us and music that was played with expertise and heart. Recognizing our predicament, Ron offered to provide the music for our event. His band, “The Riddlers” was born. He extended himself beyond expectation to discover the music we wanted played - the band rehearsed the requested songs and added a few of their own. Their execution was flawless. The dance floor was packed for each and every song the band played. We couldn’t have wished for anything more. My daughter’s dream was to be married outside and to have her guests dance at her wedding. Gratitude and Grace made her dream a reality. The ceremony was outside under a beautiful sky and the barn was filled with dancing until the wee hours of the morning. It was a day we will always remember. *****

My Best, Jill Sanders-DeMott

"Special and amazing"*****

Rebecca, October 2014
If you are considering Gratitude and Grace for your wedding, congratulations because you have found something really special and amazing. We were married there in early September 2014 and it couldn’t have been more perfect. It’s hard to put into words what a great find this was, but I’ll try!

First of all, the space is amazing! The barn is beautiful and has an incredible rustic, but refined feel to it that barely needs any decorating at all due its inherent charm. We were able to comfortably fit 150 guests, a band, and buffet tables (even on a cold night when everyone was happy to be indoors!). The view from the back of the barn over rolling fields of corn is breathtaking (I swear if you look out through the picture window in the upstairs, it feels like you’re looking at a painting), the yard is spacious with a lovely gardens and patios where guests can group and mingle, and the house has so much personality and charm that we never wanted to leave!

Ron, the owner, is absolutely a pleasure to work with. He is so warm and welcoming and clearly cares to make the day special and unique for the couple. To say he goes above and beyond is an understatement! We really wanted to have live music at our wedding, but things kept falling through. We were on the verge of settling for a DJ after a lot of frustration, but Ron offered to look into something for us… (in addition to running the venue, he is also a musician). Within weeks he had put together a group of amazing musicians (including himself on the drums), an incredible party playlist (with his ideas and our input), and we ended up with the best dance party I could have imagined!!! They played for hours, there was not a single person who wasn’t up dancing, and the barn was literally shaking!

I’m so grateful that we found this place and its owner for our wedding, and I truly give it my highest recommendation!

(Thanks again, Ron. You helped us create the unforgettable wedding of our dreams!)

"SPECTACULAR"*****

Rachel, October 2014
We could not have even dreamed up a better setting for our wedding! The property is absolutely beautiful and the barn complete with a gorgeous new chandelier is absolutely SPECTACULAR! Combined with perfect weather for our wedding last weekend, Gratitude & Grace was everything we could have hoped for and more. All of our guests could not get over how beautiful everything was and the breathtaking fall foliage on display in every direction was extra special for our guests from far away. We would recommend this venue to absolutely anyone looking for that perfect combination of rustic elegance for their wedding! Wish we could do it again!

"OMG What a Venue!! *****"

Jennifer, August 2014
We had our wedding here and it was the best venue we could have asked for. The setting is perfect for a grand party. Ron, the owner, has taken a lot of care to make the property beautiful - the gardens are very pretty and remain lovely at night with up-lighting. We used the "love shack" for our photo booth and the pool provided a great backdrop for cocktail hour. A fire pit and smores bar was set up in the back of the barn. There is so much you can do with such a great property and we have received so many compliments from our guests. Ron is amazing to work with and really allowed us to get creative. I wish we had rented the property longer! I can't say enough about Ron and Gratitude and Grace!

"Best Wedding Venue"*****

Dan
If anyone is ever in need of a venue in Ithaca, this was one of the best wedding venues I've ever been to. Thank you so much for your hospitality Ron! xoxo

(ps for whoever is interested the Love Shack is the best Bedroom in the house!)

"Absolutely Perfect!"*****

July 2014
There could not have been a better place to celebrate our daughter's graduation from Ithaca college! We had plenty of room for the whole family, loved the beautiful house, it was close to Ithaca, but felt like you were in the country, and had the perfect hosts Ron and Bernie. Ron has given the house and the wonderful barn a lot of personal touches. I only wished we had had a large event so we could have rented the barn too, an absolutely amazing space for a special occasion. We did have a cookout at the house by the pool for our family and our daughter's closest friends and their families. We escaped the crowds downtown, trying to find a restaurant that had space for our large family, and enjoyed this beautiful property and a relaxing time together during this special occasion. This was a truly amazing experience and I highly recommend this property.

"Tranquil, serene, enchanting"

Jean, Auburn, NY -- July 2013
Everything about Gratitude & Grace is what is promised, and more. The property is magnificent, the home laid back and comfortable and the host, a treasure. Our experience there was enchanting. We loved the barn, the pool, our room, the light, the roses, our breakfast, Bernie and, most of all, Ron himself, the heart and soul of the place. Can't wait to have another reason to visit.

"Strong Recommendation"

Nat, Boston, MA -- June 2013
My family came up for Cornell's graduation weekend and stayed with Ron. It was an amazing experience. The farm house is quaint, well decorated (in a funky, rural, folksy style) with all the modern accoutrements: big screen TV w/DVD collection, leather couches, nice kitchen, great outdoor grill, hot tup and pool. The big screen TV and common room area was perfect for watching the Bruins playoff games while we were there. Furthermore the land around the house is gorgeous. There is a rolling back yard and you can hiking in the woods/land behind the barn. It is close to enough to Ithaca (5 min drive), but far enough that you feel you are living in the country. There is a hot tub and a pool - which we thoroughly enjoyed. Most of our nights ended in the hot tub, just relaxing and stargazing. I have a lot of experience in landscaping. The garden around the house and the lawn was very well manicured/cared for. Ron does a phenomenal job keeping the place up to snuff. Large houses can be high maintenance, but you can tell Ron is on top of it and puts a lot of hard work and love into the property. One of the best experiences was meeting Ron. He is very accommodating, and friendly. You instantly feel like he is a best friends and his laid-back attitude sets the tone for your stay. He has a Saint Bernard aptly named Bernie which occasionally patrols the property. The family fell in love with Bernie and I think we spoiled him/his appetite with dog biscuits that we bought in town.

It was the perfect experience. Everyone, every single member of our party, everyone, from the kids to the adults enjoyed themselves and relaxed over the weekend. It was amazing. When we returned home, we laughed about the fact that we felt like we had been gone for a month. We were so relaxed and reenergized. I STRONGLY recommend this property.


Gratitude & Grace:   Front lawn and porch Gratitude & Grace:   Welcome to Gratitude and Grace Gratitude & Grace:   Master bedroom Gratitude & Grace:   The kitchen and great room Gratitude & Grace:   The living room
Gratitude & Grace:   The Blue Room Gratitude & Grace:   The Sunrise Room Gratitude & Grace:   The dining room Gratitude & Grace:   Dining Room Gratitude & Grace:   The pool and patio
Gratitude & Grace:   The Garden Patio Gratitude & Grace:   A beautifully restored historic barn from the 1870's. Spectacular & magical! Gratitude & Grace:   Grace. A Spectacular barn unlike anything for weddings and special events. Gratitude & Grace:   Pool and Garden Gratitude & Grace:   Master Bedroom
Gratitude & Grace:   Dining Room Gratitude & Grace:   Garden Arbor Gratitude & Grace:   Garden and Pool Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   The local countryside in the Fall
Gratitude & Grace:   Garden Arbor and Gate Gratitude & Grace:   Front Lawn Gratitude & Grace:   Pool and barn Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:
Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace:   Gratitude & Grace: